Aquarius Season (Jan 20 – Feb 18)

Aquarius is the eleventh sign of the zodiac. In numerology, 11 is known as a “master number” that can grant wishes. The number 11 reduces to 2, which symbolizes partnership, equality, and giving and receiving. The image of two 1’s together resembles two people who work together equally, while simultaneously holding their independence and do not need to fully rely on each other.

The eleventh house represents community, friendship, hope, and the future. Aquarians have a great sense of community and strongly value their social circle. They thrive in environments in which they can socialize with others without the structure of a hierarchy. Aquarians are turned off by positions of authority, as they want everybody to feel equal to one another. They often lean on the side of socialism. The eleventh house also influences Aquarians to be hopeful and optimistic. They dislike dwelling on the past and would rather put their energy towards building a better future. Aquarians are very future-oriented and tend to have a knack for technology.

Aquarius is symbolized by the water bearer — the image of a woman bearing water. Being symbolized by a human rather than an animal enforces their humanlike qualities and disconnection from their animal-nature. Aquarians are highly intellectual and use their minds much more than they use their bodies. People confuse Aquarius as a water sign, but they are not water themselves, they are the ones who give water — which is life-sustaining. As a water-bearer, Aquarians are the ones who provide and give back to their community. This is an ode to ancient times, in which the women used to go into town to collect water into their baskets to bring back home to their families. Alongside, the image of a woman holding water displays how Aquarians are in control of their emotions (water) and have the ability to direct it where they choose to.

In ancient astrology, Aquarius is ruled by Saturn (along with Capricorn.) Saturn symbolizes time — Capricorn is ruled by the past while Aquarius is ruled by the future. While Capricorn is associated with tradition, structure, and rules, Aquarius is associated with change, deconstruction, and freedom. Capricorn is what has already happened (unchangeable), Aquarius is what is going to come (unpredictable, uncontrollable, and infinite possibilities.) What ties these two signs together is the law of karma — with Capricorn being the harsher side of karma (what’s done is done, bad deeds catching up to you, no forgiveness, etc.) and Aquarius being the hopeful side of karma (being granted forgiveness, given the chance to change your bad ways.)

In modern astrology, Aquarius is ruled by Uranus. Uranus is all about unconventional ideas, thinking outside of the box, and uniqueness. Uranus gives Aquarius their creative flair — but this creativity comes from a place of thought rather than emotion. Uranus also represents scientific discovery and technological progress. Aquarians are the “mad scientists” of the zodiac — the ones who are ahead of their time. For example, look at how many scientific discoveries were rejected and mocked at by the general public, until decades laters when their theory is finally accepted and praised — that is the perfect metaphor for an Aquarius.

Aquarius is an air sign, along with Gemini and Libra. This places more emphasis on their logical and rational nature. They are deep thinkers who are rarely swayed by impulse. Aquarians strongly value education and are likely to thrive during their school years (unless, however, their distaste for their teachers gets in the way.) Being an air sign makes them witty, sharp, and quick-minded. They can also be quite scatterbrained and all over the place at times.

Being a fixed sign (along with Taurus, Leo, and Scorpio), Aquarians are loyal, dedicated, and always follow through on their word. While they may struggle to begin new projects, or finish what they’ve started, they excel at keeping things in motion. Once plans have been made or and idea has been laid out, Aquarians are the ones to stick with it — and nothing can stop them! Aquarians never give up; they have great focus and rarely succumb to distraction.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.